Meet the Girls!

Here they are! I’ve been researching breeds but if anyone knows for sure what my girls are I’d be appreciative. We’re naming them slowly as we discover personalities.

8 responses to this post.

  1. I love your blog! You asked about the chicken lineage and I don’t know a thing about them, but we were given some turkeys for Christmas (another thing I don’t know anything about) and they are coming through the Murray McMurray Hatchery in Iowa. They sent out a great catalog with a lot of different fowl and based on their pictures, I think you have a Buff Orpington, a black Japanese bantam, and a white Wyandotte…though I am not sure. I don’t work for the company and have not purchased from them yet, but you might check out their webside and see if they have the pictures there. http://www. mcmurrayhatchery.com

    Reply

  2. Your gals sure are pretty!! We used to have chickens (and will again someday)…and I named every single one of them, too! What is it about chickens that makes them so lovable??? Happy egg collecting! 🙂

    Reply

  3. I would have thought that the first two pictures were Gold Laced Wyandotte chickens but if they are related to the others then I don’t know. I have Gold Laced Wyandotte’s and love them – great layers.

    Reply

  4. I saw a post further down your page that showed a greenish egg – you may have either Easter Eggers or Golden Seabrights!

    http://www.mypetchicken.com/catalog/Tinted-or-Green-Egg-Layers-c65.aspx

    Reply

    • I think you’re right about the Easter Egger; that’s how I had her pegged. Thanks for the link and the heads up about the Gold Lace Wyandotte. It’s possible that they’re all hybrids and I’m not sure if they’re related…I’ll admit it; they were free and I’m very, very new at this 🙂 I really appreciate the info!

      Reply

  5. Great pictures of your girls!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

