Weaving a Yarn #1

You see, when weaving a blanket, an Indian woman leaves a flaw in the weaving of that blanket to let the soul out.

 -Martha Graham

 Thursday night was my third weaving class. When I signed up for the eight-week session I wasn’t quite sure what I was expecting. I had a short-lived experience with weaving when I received a small beading loom when I was far too young to appreciate a gift that required quite so much patience and dexterity. I could never quite figure out how to use it properly and therefore got little to no satisfaction from tinkering with it.

So, three weeks ago when I showed up at The Weaver’s Shed and Alpaca Farm in Fairfax, Vermont I was a little bit excited and a little bit nervous. Aside from my beading loom experience, weaving has been one of the few crafts I’ve kind of avoided. When I’ve seen large floor loom demonstrations it’s always struck me as a bit daunting, like it took a lot of equipment and experience.  I wasn’t wrong, but there’s also something supremely satisfying about the process. Well…I should amend that by saying that I haven’t actually started weaving yet. Yes, it’s taken me six hours of class time to almost thread my loom, and yes, I still say there’s something supremely satisfying about the process.

For me, it might have something to do with the medium of fiber itself. I love yarn. I love the way yarn feels, I love holding skeins of it in my hands, I love the way it smells. Most of all I love the potential it has. It can be anything. Yarn can be fashioned by knots, twists, folds and overlaps, (isn’t that really all fiber crafts consist of?) into seemingly endless possibilities. The process amazes me, and Thursday night after I’d spent two straight hours leaning over my loom threading 241 threads through tiny holes with a tiny hook, I felt very accomplished, and very excited about the possibilities of my still future, weaving project.

One response to this post.

  1. This a great blog Jenny! I just read through all the posts and can’t wait to read more. You’re a woman after my own heart.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

